I’ve really found the SOPA/PIPA situation interesting to observe.  I don’t, however, feel like I have anything particularly relevant to add that hasn’t already been said specific to the law(s).

However, one thing I do find fascinating and will comment on is books.  Specifically, libraries.  If one was to apply pro-SOPA/PIPA logic to a library, all that would be apparent was a lot of lost book sales.  To me, this is so obviously short sighted it’s crazy.  Libraries turn people into *readers*.  Readers buy books.  It’s just not that complicated.  Are there lost book sales because people check something out that they might have bought?  Of course, I’m sure there are.  But that’s such an overly simplistic way to look at it.  The fact is, more readers means more people talking about books, more people buying books and less people turning to competing forms of entertainment.

A fair response to that paragraph would be “yeah, look how great book stores are doing”.  I’ll grant you that many book stores have shuttered their doors, but if you look at the timing it becomes clear that libraries and bookstores coexisted for decades.  The real change here was the coming of big box stores and the internet carving out huge chunks of bookstores sales.

I know the general call of the anti-SOPA/PIPA forces is ‘make it easier to spend money on your stuff and we’ll do it’, and I certainly don’t disagree with that.  But I think rather than scrambling for incrementally larger pieces of the pie, someone might want to acknowledge that more people watching your movies and listening to your music GROWS THE PIE.  And who doesn’t like pie?

